Sleep

huyhuioij

Before his teeth were brushed and his face was washed.

Before I tucked him in for the night.

Before I read him a story. Before we said bedtime prayers.

Before hugs and kisses.

Before sleepy good nights and an exchange of I love you more.

He gave way to sleep, in his own time and place.

I picked him up and carried him to his room,

his sweet cheek resting on my shoulder as I walked. 

A kiss on his forehead and covers pulled up high,

and a photo I will treasure for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

