Cherry Coconut Nut Rounds

When I asked my Mama what she would like for me to make her for her birthday this year I expected her to request her favorite, my pecan clusters like she has the last two years.

But this year she asked me to surprise her with something that contained cherries and nuts.

I am always willing to take on a baking challenge 🙂 so I searched for a tasty recipe and ended up choosing this one.

 Toasted coconut and finely chopped pecans on the outside added a wonderful crunch.

While the insides are moist and chalked full of cherries.

I deviated a little from the original recipe and made them my own, mostly by using amaretto instead of vanilla extract and by toasting the coconut.

Here is how I made them:

-2 cups slow cooking oats

-1 cup butter

-1 TB amaretto

-1 cup powdered sugar

-1 cup chopped maraschino cherries

-1 cup finely chopped pecans

-2 cups toasted coconut

I combined all the ingredients, leaving out the pecans and one cup of coconut.Mixed well and put into the refrigerator to set for two hours.I rolled it into rounds and coated with the pecan & coconut mixture.

 It takes two coatings to get them to the consistency shown in the photos.

I was very happy with how they turned out as I hope my Mama will be when they arrive on her birthday!

2 thoughts on “Cherry Coconut Nut Rounds

Leave a Reply

