Big Boy Bed

Lovey is officially sleeping in his big boy bed!

Mister Mister and I,  along with Lovey’s help 

assembled it last night right before bedtime.

Hard at work with Daddy’s screw driver!

As soon as I made the bed he climbed right up into it, we said bedtime prayers, turned off the light, closed the door and waited down the hall for him to come wondering out of his room.

We assumed there would be an adjustment process for him and anticipated many tears being shed.

Surprisingly, he actually went straight to sleep!

Can you believe it?!

All this time Mister Mister and I had been putting it off for a couple of reasons.

One, he had yet to figure out that he could just scale the side of his crib any time he wanted so we thought why not just wait until he does.

He inevitably figured it out and has been doing it for a few weeks now.

The other reason, well I’m just too sentimental for my own good sometimes.

I know that the transition from crib to toddler bed marks one of the last few milestones acknowledging that my baby isn’t so little anymore and I guess I just wasn’t ready to give that up yet.

 We are not sure if we plan on having anymore children in the future,

so having in mind that Lovey may be my first and last baby makes me all the more sentimental.

But I knew it was time for his big boy bed,

which he was obviously more than ready for.

 I never want to hold Lovey back from growing, even if it does break my heart into a million pieces sometimes.

Tomorrow, we will take down his crib and move his new bed into place.

I’m proud of him for adjusting so well, so quickly.

For having such a brave, adventurous spirit.

That’s my little Lovey alright.

So without further ado,

Lovey sound asleep for the first time in his big boy bed ♥ 

Leave a Reply

